Hey Ref - What just happened?
Moderators: Mitch Hawker, east hockey, karl(east)
-
- Posts: 1238
- Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 6:40 pm
Hey Ref - What just happened?
Red team is playing the blue team. Red team has a man in the box with 45 seconds left in the penalty when the arm goes up on a delayed penalty called against the red team. The Blue team never loses posession and scores.
What is supposed to happen to the player in the box and the player that the delayed penalty was called on?
The ref let the player in the box out and the player that had the delayed penalty called on him didn't have to serve any time.
Was this the correct resolution?
What is supposed to happen to the player in the box and the player that the delayed penalty was called on?
The ref let the player in the box out and the player that had the delayed penalty called on him didn't have to serve any time.
Was this the correct resolution?
Solving all of hockey's problems since Feb 2009.
-
- Posts: 168
- Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 4:05 pm
-
- Posts: 168
- Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 4:05 pm
-
- Posts: 369
- Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:17 am
Re: Hey Ref - What just happened?
Had the first penalty expired yet? If not, the delayed penalty should have been served. If so, then the correct call was made.HockeyDad41 wrote:Red team is playing the blue team. Red team has a man in the box with 45 seconds left in the penalty when the arm goes up on a delayed penalty called against the red team. The Blue team never loses posession and scores.
What is supposed to happen to the player in the box and the player that the delayed penalty was called on?
The ref let the player in the box out and the player that had the delayed penalty called on him didn't have to serve any time.
Was this the correct resolution?
-
- Posts: 2566
- Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 11:40 pm
From the USA Hockey casebook page 111 situation 13:
Situation 13
Team A is short-handed by one minor penalty. With play in
progress, the Referee signals another minor penalty on Team
A. Before play is stopped, Team B scores. Which penalties, if
any, are washed out because of the goal?
The minor penalty being served is terminated and the delayed
penalty is assessed in the normal manner. Rule References
402(c) and Rule 409(b).
Only one minor penalty is terminated as the result of a goal
being scored.
Ë Situation 14
During play, an infraction calling for a major penalty is
signaled on a Team A player. As play continues, the same
player commits another infraction calling for a minor penalty.
Before play is completed, Team B scores a goal. Which
penalties, if any, are washed out as a result of the goal being
scored?
The minor penalty is washed out, as a result of the goal and
the major penalty is assessed in the normal manner. Rule
References 402(c) and 409(b).
A major penalty is never terminated, or washed out, as a result
of a goal being scored.
The casebook along with the playing rule book can be downloaded from the USA Hockey web site.
Situation 13
Team A is short-handed by one minor penalty. With play in
progress, the Referee signals another minor penalty on Team
A. Before play is stopped, Team B scores. Which penalties, if
any, are washed out because of the goal?
The minor penalty being served is terminated and the delayed
penalty is assessed in the normal manner. Rule References
402(c) and Rule 409(b).
Only one minor penalty is terminated as the result of a goal
being scored.
Ë Situation 14
During play, an infraction calling for a major penalty is
signaled on a Team A player. As play continues, the same
player commits another infraction calling for a minor penalty.
Before play is completed, Team B scores a goal. Which
penalties, if any, are washed out as a result of the goal being
scored?
The minor penalty is washed out, as a result of the goal and
the major penalty is assessed in the normal manner. Rule
References 402(c) and 409(b).
A major penalty is never terminated, or washed out, as a result
of a goal being scored.
The casebook along with the playing rule book can be downloaded from the USA Hockey web site.
Here's one for you ...
A player grabs a high rebound out of the air and throws it into the net with his glove. Is this a goal? (Hint: it is in District 3)
http://www.youtube.com/v/NyaJTDpdhD8
A player grabs a high rebound out of the air and throws it into the net with his glove. Is this a goal? (Hint: it is in District 3)
http://www.youtube.com/v/NyaJTDpdhD8
-
- Posts: 168
- Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 4:05 pm
No goal unless it inadvertantly went in off his hand...D3Referee wrote:Here's one for you ...
A player grabs a high rebound out of the air and throws it into the net with his glove. Is this a goal? (Hint: it is in District 3)
http://www.youtube.com/v/NyaJTDpdhD8
That should not have been a goal, but he did not grab it and throw it in.This is nuts! wrote:No goal unless it inadvertantly went in off his hand...D3Referee wrote:Here's one for you ...
A player grabs a high rebound out of the air and throws it into the net with his glove. Is this a goal? (Hint: it is in District 3)
http://www.youtube.com/v/NyaJTDpdhD8
He reached up and it went in off his hand.
He "reached" up for what? Obviously the puck. Wether he grabbed it and threw it in or wether he reached for it and batted it in makes no difference. He intentionally put it in with his hand. That much was obvious to everyone ... except to the only one who matteredD6Rocks wrote:That should not have been a goal, but he did not grab it and throw it in.This is nuts! wrote:No goal unless it inadvertantly went in off his hand...D3Referee wrote:Here's one for you ...
A player grabs a high rebound out of the air and throws it into the net with his glove. Is this a goal? (Hint: it is in District 3)
http://www.youtube.com/v/NyaJTDpdhD8
He reached up and it went in off his hand.

Let me ask this ... should his linesman have made an attempt to correct him or just do as they did and support the call?
-
- Posts: 168
- Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 4:05 pm
Get it right!D3Referee wrote:He "reached" up for what? Obviously the puck. Wether he grabbed it and threw it in or wether he reached for it and batted it in makes no difference. He intentionally put it in with his hand. That much was obvious to everyone ... except to the only one who matteredD6Rocks wrote:That should not have been a goal, but he did not grab it and throw it in.This is nuts! wrote: No goal unless it inadvertantly went in off his hand...
He reached up and it went in off his hand.![]()
Let me ask this ... should his linesman have made an attempt to correct him or just do as they did and support the call?
-
- Posts: 68
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 8:10 am
Of course it is a goal.......it is WayzataThis is nuts! wrote:Get it right!D3Referee wrote:He "reached" up for what? Obviously the puck. Wether he grabbed it and threw it in or wether he reached for it and batted it in makes no difference. He intentionally put it in with his hand. That much was obvious to everyone ... except to the only one who matteredD6Rocks wrote: That should not have been a goal, but he did not grab it and throw it in.
He reached up and it went in off his hand.![]()
Let me ask this ... should his linesman have made an attempt to correct him or just do as they did and support the call?
Any other team it's a no goal......

-
- Posts: 68
- Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:30 pm
At a game our team played at this weekend one of our players basically took a slap shot to clear the puck from his defensive zone and the play was whistled dead and the ref called a high stick. I looked at the tournament rules and nothing was mentioned about no slap shots, so I figured it must be a MH rule. Can someone point me to where these rules are located? I looked at the USA Hockey and MH websites and I can't find it. Thanks.
Update: found it. Rule 621 D
(d) The use of the “slap shot” in the Youth and Girls’ 10 &
under age classifications and below is prohibited. When a
player who, in the process of making a forehand or backhand
shot or pass, raises the blade of the stick above his waste as
part of the backswing, play shall be stopped immediately and
a face-off is conducted at one of the end zone face-off spots of
the offending team.
Update: found it. Rule 621 D
(d) The use of the “slap shot” in the Youth and Girls’ 10 &
under age classifications and below is prohibited. When a
player who, in the process of making a forehand or backhand
shot or pass, raises the blade of the stick above his waste as
part of the backswing, play shall be stopped immediately and
a face-off is conducted at one of the end zone face-off spots of
the offending team.
I have another dumb rules question from a bantam tourney this past weekend. As bantams they are playing tag up offsides. White team has a couple players still in black zone trying to get out. White d-man fires a slap shot into the zone from just outside blue line and it goes in the net cleanly, never touching the goalie. Is it a goal or offside?
Refs waved it off and held offside face-off. I assumed this was correct but heard someone else question it since no one touched the puck in the offensive zone.
Thanks for any clarification. Might have mattered as white lost game 2-1.
Refs waved it off and held offside face-off. I assumed this was correct but heard someone else question it since no one touched the puck in the offensive zone.
Thanks for any clarification. Might have mattered as white lost game 2-1.
That is the correct call.C-dad wrote:I have another dumb rules question from a bantam tourney this past weekend. As bantams they are playing tag up offsides. White team has a couple players still in black zone trying to get out. White d-man fires a slap shot into the zone from just outside blue line and it goes in the net cleanly, never touching the goalie. Is it a goal or offside?
Refs waved it off and held offside face-off. I assumed this was correct but heard someone else question it since no one touched the puck in the offensive zone.
Thanks for any clarification. Might have mattered as white lost game 2-1.
There is a brand new rule in high school this year that allows a goalie the option to continue to play a puck that has shot on goal during a delayed offsides without stopping play.
If he holds the puck or chooses not to continue play, the play is whistled dead.